Rico names Airtricity panel for Aviva opener

Last updated : 25 July 2010 By Barry Landy

Damien Richardson has named an eighteen man Airtricity League select squad for the Aviva Stadium opener against Manchester United on August the 4th. The match, the first football game in the newly developed and monikered Lansdowne Road, has attracted widespread interest gien Manchester United’s huge following this side of the Irish Sea.

Killian Brennan: In The Squad

The Airtricity panel consists of six players from champions Bohemians, whilst the other five clubs represented are St Patricks Athletic, Galway United, Sligo Rovers, Derry City and Sporting Fingal. Richardson has also selected seven players on a stand by list, where Dundalk and UCD are also among the teams represented.

Manchester United ‘s first team panel are making their first visit to Ireland for a friendly tie since 2002, when they defeated Shelbourne 5-0 at Tolka Park.

Airtricity League XI squad vs Manchester United, Aviva Stadium, Dublin, 4th August 2010.

Gary Rogers: St Pats
Gerard Doherty: Derry City

Brian Shelley: Bohemians
Ger O'Brien: Sporting Fingal
Ken Oman: Bohemians
Gavin Peers: Sligo Rovers
Conor Powell: Bohemians
Conor Kenna: St Pats

Paul Keegan: Bohemians
Shaun Williams: Sporting Fingal
Alan Kirby: Sporting Fingal
Joseph Ndo: Sligo Rovers
Richie Ryan: Sligo Rovers
Stephen O'Donnell: Galway United
Killian Brennan:Bohemians

Paddy Madden: Bohemians
Karl Sheppard: Galway United
Ryan Guy: St Pats


Stand by panel: Peter Cherrie (Dundalk), Alan Keane (Sligo Rovers), Patrick McEleney (Derry City), Dave Mulcahy (St. Patricks Athletic), Ciaran Kilduff (UCD), Padraig Almond (Sligo Rovers), Fadruhin Kudozovic (Dundalk).

Meanwhile, Manchester United boss Sir Alex Ferguson has confirmed that Wayne Rooney and the clubs other World Cup representatives will return to club pre season action in Dublin. Rooney, Nemanja Vidic, Ji Sung Park, Patrice Evra, Michael Carrick and Javier Hernandez will all play some part at the redeveloped stadium. Gary Neville and Antonio Valencia will also be involved but Michael Owen, Anderson, Owen Hargreaves and Rio Ferdinand miss out through injury.

Trending on the boards